- About Us
- Why the Cockerel?
- The History of the Museum
- History of the Museum 1900-1983
- History of the Museum 1983 - Present
- The Cowle Trust
- Special Events
- Thursday Afternoon Talks
- School Holiday Activities
- Select 2018: My Nature
- Future Exhibitions
- Sandra Porter: All Things Being Equal
- Select Festival 2018
- Previous Exhibitions
- 2017 Exhibitions
- 2016 Exhibitions
- 2015 Exhibitions
- 2014 Exhibitions
- 2013 Exhibitions
- 2012 Exhibitions
- 2011 Exhibitions
- 2010 Exhibitions
- 2007 - 2009 Exhibitions
- The Museum Collections
- Collections Enquiries
- Recent Acquisitions
- Mystery Object
- Highlights of the Collection
- Paintings from the Collection
- Wilf Merrett Postcard Collection Gallery
- Featured Objects - The Lawnmower
- Featured Object - Wallbridge Painting
- Featured Object - Spanners
- Featured Object - Baughan Motorcyle
- Featured Collection - Casein
- Featured Collection - Prinknash Pottery
- Collections Policies
- World War One Commemoration Events
- 2014 - One Man's War
- 2015 - Technology and Innovation
- 2016 - The World at War
- 2017 - The Home Front
- 2018 - Medals, Souvenirs and Legacy
- Echoes in Enamel Project
- Stories from the Collection
- Trephined Skull
- Bragg Clock
- Beaker Boy
- Woolly Mammoths
- The Story of Animation in Stroud
- Friends of the Museum
- Friends Events
- Friends Contributions
- The Gate to The Secret Garden Print
- The Walled Garden Project
- Walled Garden Plan
- Walled Garden Brief History
- Walled Garden Project Photographs
- Secret Garden Public Photography Day 2013
- The first Walled Garden Residency by Quercus
- Only the Flame Remains: A Collection of Poems
- Museum Volunteers
Museum borrows a Post Office...
The Museum recently took loan of a model of the Painswick Post Office as it appeared in about 1990.
The building which housed the Painswick Post Office is called Westhaven House and is thought to have been built in the early 1400s and is a box-frame design.
The Post Office moved to Westhaven House in 1932 during renovations which converted the building from three dwellings into one unit and revealed the timbers on the front elevation.
A fabulous model of the Post Office has recently be lent to the Museum. The model is made at a scale of 1/12th of the original building and took over 1600 hours to construct, and many more hours went into the research, measuring and photography of the original building.
The model has featured on television programs and in newspapers, regionally, nationally internationally. The Post Office at Westhaven House closed on 23rd March 2013.
The model is currently on display in the Museum in the Park Collectors' Room.
The photograph of the Post Office on this page is from our Wilf Merrett Collection. Visit and see how it compares with the 1990 model!
Cathedral of Cloth: Celebrating 600 years of Ebley Mill
Thanks to a major grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund, visitors will be able to step back in time to the sights and sounds of Ebley Mill for a dramatic new exhibition at The Museum in the Park in February 2018.
December Deep Clean
It’s almost December and we’re once again getting that deep-clean feeling. The Museum will be closing its doors for 2017 from December 4, when we’ll be sprucing the place up for a reopening on New Year’s Day. Read on to find out more about exactly what we get up in this month of closing.
Walled Garden Highly Commended
We are delighted to announce that Austin Design Works have received an award from the Landscape Institute for the Walled Garden project, here at the Museum in the Park.
Museum work showcased
Some of the Museum's work has recently featured in two national reports.
Plan your visit
Select a date from the calendar to see what's on